“The natural selection principle of "survival of the fittest" is about neither predator and prey nor the elimination of the weak. Rather it is how to equip oneself to contribute more, to enrich humankind, the environment, and culture, and most importantly, to alleviate the sufferings of future generations.

I believe this is true of architecture as well. Through generations of continuance and sustainable practice, the professional value of architecture has been demonstrated, and its contribution can reach new heights and vision.”

──Joshua Jih Pan

 

In September 2019, we received an invitation from ta Taiwan Architecture to serve as the guest editor of this issue. With nearly four decades of history, we at JJP asked ourselves from what perspective should we view architecture. What is the purpose of JJP to assemble nearly 300 professionals? The answer has nothing to do with the projects, regardless of scale or individual preference, but rather a shared belief in the value of architecture. After an in-depth discussion, we decided to embark from the perspective of "Taiwan Architecture's Expectations and Hopes" and developed the theme of "Professional, Continuance and Sustainability in Architecture", which is presented as follows:

As a prelude, three successive generations of architects, Joshua Jih Pan, Tsai Yuan-Liang , and Chang Jing-Yao, who were educated in Taiwan and professionally trained abroad, gather to discuss their observations and expectations on the continuance of architectural practices in Taiwan.

Next, we dive into the topic of "professionalism" and JJP invited several renowned foreign firms to share their experience on the international stage and in Taiwan. Articles include the global perspective of Zaha Hadid Architects, RSHP's pioneer knowledge in glocalization, and MVRDV’s take on making the best of a foreign context. Unfortunately, the plan for Nikolaus Goetze, a partner at the prestigious German firm, gmp, to discuss in person with JJP his firm’s experience in Asia, was disrupted.

However, true to his commitment he delivered an insightful take on the success of gmp’s international record. It must be noted that throughout the process, despite the raging pandemic, all of our esteemed foreign friends demonstrated true professionalism and perseverance by working closely with the JJP editorial team,which is a testament to their respect for the readers in Taiwan and how the sharing of architectural knowledge transcends borders.

In the subsequent section titled “continuance", we were fortunate enough to arrange a discussion between another gmp veteran architect, Marc Ziemons, and JJP’s principal Su Chungwei, on overcoming global challenges and cultural differences. The three Taiwanese architects from the prologue, Joshua Jih Pan, Tsai Yuan-Liang, and Chang Jing-Yao, then return to reflect on their extensive professional experience.

For the last topic of "sustainability", we begin with "#_Architecture " to resonate with the next generation. Two recognized architectural scholars, Kung Shu-Chang and Chi Jr-Gang, engaged two established architects, Su Chungwei and Nancy Lin of AECOM, in a live webcast and Q & A. Switching to a different approach, Zhang Xiaoming, JJP’s managing principal, posed a series of questions to HKS Architects on their achievements in inter-disciplinary research and development. Next come essays by three architects of different generations, from Lin Yu-Han of Behet Bondzio Lin Architekten on critical practice, Lin Bo-Yang of Fieldevo Design Studio on designing with nature, and Joshua Jih Pan on timelessness in architecture. Finally, the architectural scholar Lo Shih-Wei offers a discourse the transformation of Taiwanese architecture with a focus on the cultural edifice. A fitting conclusion as all architectural practices are carried out in the context of history and the past offers valuable lessons towards the future.

We hope you will enjoy the content brought to you by the JJP editorial team. Happy reading!

「适者生存」的物竞天择道理,其意义并不是在于弱肉强食,让弱者被淘汰,而是在于如何装备自己,提供更多更好的贡献,发挥我们对人类、对地球、对文化的影响力,减少后人需面对的苦难。
我所相信的建筑也是如此,透过世代传承与永续实践,彰显建筑的专业价值,站上更能发挥贡献的高度与视野。」—–潘冀

2019年9月JJP收到了《台湾建筑杂志》邀请,担任本期客座编辑;扪心自问,JJP经历了快四十年的建筑淬炼,要以何种角度来看待建筑?聚集了近300名专业伙伴的目的是什么?这无关建筑作品呈现、规模大小,也无关个人对建筑好恶,而在于建筑的信仰与价值。深入讨论之后,决定以「台湾建筑的期待与希望」之角度切入,定调「建筑的专业、传承与永续」编辑主轴,呈现如下:

首先,以台湾接受建筑启蒙,受过国外建筑师专业养成的潘冀、蔡元良、张景尧三位不同世代建筑师,浅谈自身建筑实践、对台湾建筑传承的看法与期待,为本期拉开序幕。

接着,切入「专业」议题,由JJP邀请国外知名事务所,分享各自在国际舞台及台湾的设计经验,包括Zaha Hadid Architects的全球演绎、RSHP对在地文化的理解与适应、MVRDV从环境中寻求主导议题。过程中原本安排德国gmp资深合伙人来台与潘冀建筑师谈论亚洲实践经验,尽管计画因疫情作罢,德国朋友仍坚持承诺寄来了书面稿件。这些素负盛名的国际事务所在邀稿中展现的专业与执着及多方确认,再再显示对台湾读者与建筑同好的重视,以及专业分享无国界的积极态度。

紧接着是「传承」,由另一场gmp与JJP对谈开启,两位主持建筑师Marc Ziemons与苏重威,以建筑伙伴的感性口吻畅谈文化差异下的全球挑战,回应序幕中的三位台湾建筑师的建筑实践经验。

话题一转,进入「永续」篇章,以《建筑关键字》呼应下一个世代的思维;邀请建筑学者(龚书章/漆志刚)与建筑师(林芳慧/苏重威),透过网路直播、现场问答传达属于这个世代的独特语气,全程收录社群网站,开放自由扫描阅读。

另一组对谈则是邀请HKS Architects与JJP主持建筑师张晓鸣接棒,分享对跨领域的研发、转折、过程与成果。

之后藉由三位建筑师的建筑理念,批判性的实践(林友寒)、与自然相遇的学习(林柏阳),建筑本质的探究(潘冀),读者可从不同的心法中体验建筑。最后,罗时玮老师以学者观点,聚焦世代变迁中文化构筑及台湾建筑地方性。终究,建筑实践是在历史的洪流中进行,从过往的省思中昂首,往建筑的未来前进。

这就是JJP编辑团队与读者分享的建筑体验。

相关连结: